Skip to content

Fun With A New Translation Website

November 7, 2009

Frengly is a relatively new translation website, and is vastly more convenient to use than BabelFish. For one, it recognizes the source language on its own. No spoon feeding there. Also, all language tabs are present on the main page itself, so fewer clicks required (hey don’t blame me: we all are programmed to be lazy, even while on the computer). It looks clean and neat too. And to top it all, Frengly supports many more languages, unlike Babel Fish.

Hindi is one of them.

So I got about translating random sentences in an attempt to see how  much of it gets lost in translation. My friends joined me in the fun it turned out to be. The results were hilarious!  Here are a few results we got:

Holy crap! पवित्र बकवास!
The root cause of the problem is that you suck. समस्या के मूल कारण यह है कि तुम चूसते
Dude, get a life. दोस्त, एक जीवन मिलता है.
Laughing My Ass Off! (LMAO) मेरे गधे हँस रहे बंद!
Howdy Partner कैसे हो साथी
You boob, I am screwed तुम उल्लू , मैं मुसीबत में हूँ
This is really messed up यह सच में गड़बड़ कर दी है
Sick slut! बीमार कुलटा!
Yo mama’s so fat, when she jumped in joy, she got stuck. यो माँ बहुत मोटा है, जब वह खुशी में कूद गया, वो फंस गया
George Bush cant pronounce nuclear. जॉर्ज झाड़ी खिचड़ी भाषा उच्चारण परमाणु

Have fun wasting your next half hour!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 7:01 pm

    oh god that is hilarious! I am off to try my own sentences now!

    • November 7, 2009 7:07 pm

      :D

  2. November 8, 2009 1:49 pm

    I love the Beemar Kulta the best :) Now let me try wasting some time :)

  3. November 8, 2009 2:04 pm

    I love blogging – मैं ब्लॉगिंग प्यार

  4. November 8, 2009 6:24 pm

    Hehe… I love technology!

  5. November 13, 2009 1:29 pm

    Hey,
    I think that sites like this one are great fun, and the information technology behind it all is fascinating from a developer’s point of view.
    However, as a translator, I know that relying on these sites for business purposes is a risky venture. Website translations, for example, will simply not measure up when done through such automatic translations.

    Thanks, and cheers!

  6. February 14, 2010 2:24 pm

    It seems this website is using Google translator since each time I click on a language it will access Google.

    I usually use Google translator for quick translation, but for other matters, I fully agree with B.

    • February 14, 2010 2:32 pm

      Yeah, it does use Google translator. And of course, this is more for the convenience for readers rather than as a professional tool.

Leave a Reply

